Kentucky Bankruptcy Law

Counsel with Care

Fast, free and sometimes fun info on Instagram (of all places!)

I do not know what is wrong with me!? I had need to consult with an attorney long ago before I ever contemplated law school. The meeting consisted of me pouring out the whole situation I faced and the attorney responding with a head nod or a grunt – maybe both and talking to me about setting up a retainer. Naively, I took his silence as a sign of wisdom and experience. Frankly, that is smart lawyering. He let me jump to the conclusions I most wanted without ever promising a thing.

I am not smart. At least not that smart when it comes to “reeling in” clients.

I talk a lot. I give out more information, usually, than most clients really were looking for or can retain. It is not hubris that loosens my tongue. I genuinely like to help people and I love sharing what I can. That is a big reason why I do this blog. Sure it is also marketing, but I could think of many other marketing approaches that would reach larger audiences (y’all can help me with that!). And, writing these posts the way I do usually takes a lot of time because I research what I write about and I try to make it actually useful.

Anyway, I am experimenting with a new approach. I am posting little short video clips of legal information when I come across something that would be helpful (or perhaps humorous). I figure I might even stick some good old-fashioned parental advise in there from time to time just in case my daughters are viewing the clips. Thirty seconds are about the most I can expect to have them hooked in on a frequent basis anyway.

So, find me on Instagram as @napierlaw or on Twitter as @gnap7 – and I look forward to this experiment in social media! If you like it, I may even migrate to Vine where the clips can go longer.

January 14, 2014 Posted by | Life & Law, Solo & Small Firm | , , , , , | Leave a comment